Architectural Design – Eleanor Burdorf

Being 11 days into our Fashion in India Study Abroad trip there are many things about India that I really like. The one thing that really stands out to me that I love is the architecture. In Minnesota we have a lot of plain looking buildings with very straight lines. Although they are simple, chic and beautiful I really like all the detail that goes into the older buildings here in India. My favorite places so far include the Taj Mahal, Jaipur City Palace and the Agra Fort. Everything about the Taj Mahal was absolutely beautiful but the flowers that were carved into the marble on the outside of the building near the entrance was just breathtaking. The City palace incorporates an impressive and vast array of courtyards, gardens and buildings. The palace was built between 1729 and 1732. The arches, balconies and doors were all so detailed and like nothing I’ve seen back home. The Agra Fort is a historical fort in the city of Agra. It was the residence of the emperors of the Mughal Dynasty till 1638. There was so much to see at this 94 acre fort. I could go back multiple times and continue to notice different details that I hadn’t noticed before. My favorite thing about the Agra fort was all of the archways. Everything was designed in a way so the fort would stay cool during Indias warm months. I’m looking forward to seeing more buildings here in India and going back home to see if I continue to notice the small details in architectural design.

img_7265img_7203img_7306

Leave a Reply

