New Year/New Continent. -Tash Bame ’16

As 2016 comes to a close, I am preparing for an experience of a lifetime that will kick off the beginning of 2017, which is already proving to be a year of great transitions. With less than 48 hours left until our plane leaves American soil, I can say that I am definitely feeling a heap of mixed emotions. The most frequent question I keep asking myself is, “What am I forgetting?” Every time I stuff something new into my suitcase, I pull one thing out. It feels like I am in a never ending cycle of coming up with different things that could be useful while living out of a suitcase for two weeks. Packing for a country I have never been to before has been more difficult than I had anticipated. This will be the first time I have ever been away from my son (Zoriah) for more than three days, and I am a bit nervous about that. Although, I am grateful to the inventor of Whatsapp, whoever you are, I appreciate your brain and passion for connectivity.  Worried mom syndrome aside, I am mostly feeling excitement to be submerged in such a rich cultural experience, guided by some of the most influential women of my life and amongst an amazing collective of Katie students and graduates. I am super stoked that St. Catherine’s has given me the opportunity to take the last class of my college career as a study abroad course to a country that I have always dreamed of exploring.
Here’s to hoping I don’t forget anything important…

Leave a Reply

